Real Love- M&M app


God elevates the importance of love in 1 Corinthians 13:1-3, “If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing” (NIV).

Then, the dimensions of this love are described in 1 Corinthians 13:4-7. “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres” (NIV). Seven of the dimensions of love listed are descriptions of what love is not. To help you better understand what love is, we’ve bracketed a word after these negative descriptions defining love in the positive.


“Love is patient” “love is kind”
“does not envy” [is content] “does not boast” [encourages]
“is not proud” [is humble] “is not rude” [honors]
“is not self-seeking [selfless] “is not easily angered” [is gentle]
“keeps no record of wrongs” [forgives] “Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth”
“always protects” “always trusts”
“always hopes” “always perseveres.”